CONCERT: RUTHENIA, Retrospective of the great Russian composers
Monday, 8. September
Union Hall at 19.30
Marko Črnčec - piano and composer
Rudy Royston  - drums
Chris Jennings  - doublebass

Boštjan Lipovšek – horn
Dudu Carmel – oboe
Mateja Kremljak – flute
Janez Podlesek - violin
Dragan Radosavljavić – violin
Tamara Marinković - viola
Klemen Hvala – cello
Danilo Ženko – sound engineer

Marko Črnčec: RUTHENIA, Retrospective of the great Russian composers.

Ruthenia is a Latin name for Russian border provinces and their inhabitants. I chose it because for me it is also a metaphor for connecting and bonding with the great Russian musical tradition. Composing the suite I tried to form an attachment to the themes and the composing techniques of the great Russian composers Stravinsky, Shostakovich, Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev and Scriabin. Ruthenia is my homage to them and a sort of a thank you for the music they have given us. Of course, there will also be some room for improvisation, which for me is a sort of spontaneous composing born in a spur of moment and marked by it. To be able to compose for a larger musical ensemble was my long-time wish and now it came true. We will have a string quartet, an oboe, a flute and a French horn on stage besides my trio, which means I have a large spectrum of sounds to work with. A challenge and a fantastic opportunity to be creative, for which I am truly grateful."

Marko Črnčec